Deactivating or reactivating someone's account

Explains how to deactivate an account if someone is arrested or loses their phone or other device.

See Compromised Account Procedure

If a person loses their phone or other device they use to access our services (e.g. if they get arrested), a group admin can deactivate their account.

Deactivating an account

Find the person in your group, by going to the group, clicking All Members. Click on the person.

In the blue menu, there is an option to Deactivate User.

Enter the reason you want to deactivate them, and click Yes.

The user will immediately be removed from all UK private teams on Mattermost, and their accounts in Hub, Forums and Cloud will be deactivated. A message will also be sent to the global Mattermost admins asking then to deactivate the Mattermost account.

If the user has a vault account for the same email address as they currently have on the Hub, it will also be deactivated.

Reactivating an account

Do not reactivate the account of someone you do not know personally.

And, of course, make sure :

  • They really have been released, and have all their devices back
  • Their email address has not been compromised

If in any doubt, do not reactivate until their email address on the Hub and all other services has been changed to a new, uncompromised address. To do that, obtain their current Mattermost password, and ask your regional Hub Admin, or request in the Hub Help Desk on Mattermost.

Follow the same steps - the button should now say Reactivate User. Clicking it shows this confirmation screen:

Click Yes to reactivate them. The user will immediately be rejoined to all their UK private teams on Mattermost, and their accounts in Hub, Forums and Cloud will be reactivated. A message will also be sent to the global Mattermost admins asking then to reactivate the Mattermost account.

If the user has a vault account for the same email address as they currently have on the Hub, it will also be reactivated.